2022-2023 Teacher of the Year nominees


TCSS Announces Teacher of the Year Nominees for Each School


LaGrange, GA., October 14, 2021 – Today, 25 teachers in Troup County School System (TCSS) received the good news that they were named the 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year for their school. These teachers will now move on to the next portion of the nomination process by completing essays for submission.


Each year, this program recognizes teachers who display excellence and high standards for the teaching profession. Each elementary school, HOPE Academy, and THINC College & Career Academy designate one teacher for the honor while all middle and high schools designate two teachers each. 


All nominees complete applications describing their professional preparation and experience, as well as answer questions pertaining to their philosophy of teaching and practical applications. Roughly ten professionals from the school system, community, and Partners in Education will be tapped to participate in a blind evaluation of their written applications.


From the nominees, three system finalists will be named – one representing elementary, middle, and high school levels. The top three candidates are then judged by education professionals who do not reside in Troup County. They will observe classroom instruction, conduct interviews, and review the finalist’s written applications.


Finally, one of the top three finalists will be named Troup County School System (TCSS) Teacher of the Year in March during an afternoon reception where family, colleagues, and friends can enjoy the moment with them. TCSS’ current Teacher of the Year, Hannah Frady from Troup High School, is currently vying for the state-level honor which will be announced in May.


Congratulations to each nominee!

The nominees from each school are:

Berta Weathersbee Elementary School                     April Todd       

Callaway Elementary School                                     Ginger Bishop

Clearview Elementary School                                    Rebecca Stewart

Ethel W. Kight Elementary School                             Samuel Sykes           

Franklin Forest Elementary School                            Sabrina Barintine                               

Hillcrest Elementary School                                       Alicia Bilbo                 

Hogansville Elementary School                                 Katie King

Hollis Hand Elementary School                                  Cindy Lanier               

Long Cane Elementary School                                  Amy Goodson

Rosemont Elementary School                                   Caley Yeary

West Point Elementary School                                   Chloe Bridges

Callaway Middle School                                             Samantha Cotton

Callaway Middle School                                             Christine Wicklund     

Gardner Newman Middle School                               Monica Cameron

Gardner Newman Middle School                               Marcus Blandingburg

Long Cane Middle School                                          Katina Ross                

Long Cane Middle School                                          Jeremy Cross

Callaway High School                                                Shelby Holcomb        

Callaway High School                                                Justin Williams

LaGrange High School                                               Rebecca Davis

LaGrange High School                                               Jessica O’Neal

The HOPE Academy                                                   Tishana Hines

THINC College & Career Academy                           Jayne Pauley

Troup High School                                                      Judy Robinson                       

Troup High School                                                      Linda Wood

Back to School News       Print